Because I’m Happy!

Happy Friday all! We made it through the first week back in school and I made it back into a pair of pre-pregnancy jeans! Lots to celebrate today. 🙂

The other day, I was challenged with listing 10 things that made me happy. Try to list 10 items without over thinking the list. Just write down the first 10 things that come to your mind.

How’d you do? Did you get 10? If your list shorter or longer? When I answered this challenge I found my list at 15. Here’s what I had:

  1. My husband
  2. Baby girl
  3. Sleeping in on a rainy morning
  4. Fresh coffee
  5. Music
  6. Spending time with my family
  7. Freshly painted finger nails
  8. Saying my prayers
  9. Checking things off my to-do list
  10. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, lol
  11. Running on a clear morning
  12. Finishing a workout I didn’t think I could do
  13. Watching my students succeed
  14. A clean house
  15. Warm laundry right out of the dryer

After I finished the list, I took a minute to really reflect on my top 15. How many items on my list are materialistic objects? How many are people, relationships, memories, personal triumphs, etc? Which ones of these are a daily thing for me?

2017 has been a mind shift for me. For so long (I’m talking years), I focused on material items- new clothes, new shoes, new jewelry- to make me happy. I thought if I wore certain things or filled my shelves with statement necklaces that I would be happy. What I’ve realized from all of this is that I wasn’t truly happy with myself. I was chasing someone I thought I should be. It wasn’t until just recently that I decided it was time to be happy with me. I’ve built a life for myself that I love. I have the best husband, baby girl and family I could have hoped for. My relationship with God has never been stronger. I’m focusing on being happy with the things that can’t be measured by a price tag and with the realization I’ve found that I’m happier than I’ve ever been.

Find what makes you truly happy and go all in.

 

One thought on “Because I’m Happy!

  1. Sam says:

    The relationships will provide more happiness than the material goods. It takes time to realize that, but when you do you will appreciate those relationships even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

